Jeweller, Kathryn Partington, Portrait, Photograph, Gareth Partington, Photographer

Making Jewels ‘at the bench’

Hi Everyone!

I’ve been making updates to my website by adding some portrait & working shots of myself working ‘at the bench’ shot by photographer, Gareth Partington.

He also happens to be my brother!

Jeweller, Kathryn Partington, Portrait, Photograph, Gareth Partington, Photographer

Jeweller, Kathryn Partington Photographed by Gareth Partington

Usually my jewellery tends to be the subject of my blog.. . and although linked to making my jewels, today  the subject happens to be ‘behind the scenes.’

My studio is where I produce my work, where my design process takes place and where all the activity behind the pieces happen…

Based in the Heart of Birmingham’s, Jewellery Quarter, Hockley, the workshop is tucked away amongst other Designer/Maker Workshops, Silversmiths and Manufacturers.

Small and humble. Naturally well lit, it’s the perfect place to create. I love this space. A place where I can shut myself away and do the job that I love;

making, experimenting, playing, composing, designing and thinking!

Jeweller, Kathryn Partington, Portrait, Photograph, Gareth Partington, Photographer

Jeweller, Kathryn Partington Photographed by Gareth Partington

Sometimes in that order, sometimes it’s a bit of a mix.

During the process the outcomes include;  pieces developing and collections evolving… to finalised and completed ranges.

Take a look at some new items added to my online shop…

IcedGems, Blue, Enamel, Vitreous Enamel, Silver, Grid Design, Kathryn Partington

#IcedGems
Blue, Enamel, Silver, Drop Earrings
by Kathryn Partington

there’s lots more coming… & i’ll share with you when it’s fully updated!

I also came across this great article via bored panda entitled ‘Famous Artists and their studio’s.’ It’s interesting to see the creative spaces behind the artists and designers, maybe I should join the list!?

But in the meantime  what do you think? I’d love to know your thoughts, comments and feedback!  & Thanks for reading…

3 thoughts on “Making Jewels ‘at the bench’

  1. Pingback: Jewellery Shop building! | KATHRYN PARTINGTON

Leave a Reply

