Its a New Year, New Day in my world of jewellery

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a great Christmas and your new year is off to a good start????!

Time goes by so quickly it seems and another year gone, we’re now into February so soon! ….. Still I am pursuing my dream of making and creating my jewellery, at times it ebbs and flows as I work currently full-time but its a passion that always burns on so I make and create when I can!

This first post of 2014 is reflecting upon my biggest achievements made in the last year…

Firstly i redesigned my website, its still work in progress but I think a website always is, evolving and changing as work develops and new pieces emerge, please take a look I’d love to know what you think;

www.kathrynpartington.com

My work was exhibited as part of Magic City at Velvet Di Vinci in San Fransisco, an honor to be invited and show alongside other amazing talented jewellers!

Ethereal Serene, brooch, silver, ceramic, bone china, jewellery, jewelry, one off, handmade

Kathryn Partington Ethereal Serene Brooch Magic City Exhibit

During the summer I invested in learning some new skills to develop my practice and keep my ideas fresh and moving. I attended a series of masterclasses delivered by super enamel talent Ruth Ball where I learned some very beautiful techniques. Thank you Ruth! These are making a welcome addition to my portfolio and new work directions!

Enamel, Cloisonne, Surface tests, Matt finish, Blue, Green, silver, copper

Kathryn Partington © 2013 Cloisonne Enamel Tests – Playful composition (15)

After beginning to explore & develop the use of  enamel in new jewellery pieces I joined the Guild of Enamellers and subsequently was selected to take part in a fabulous enamel exhibition held at The School of Jewellery entitled ‘Heart of the Heat.’

My work was also showcased with Dazzle Exhibitions at Manchester Museum and Art Gallery, here I exhibited ‘One -off’ jewellery pieces. These were;

 ‘Ethereal’ from my signature range which is inspired from an 1890 japanese inspired victorian tableware decoration. The patterns I have  hand drawn are translated across the various mediums I work in, which include hand dyed, silk screen printed silks with iridescent, metallic and pearlescent prints on,  handformed and decorative embellishments applied throughoutto silver and relief embossed bone china components  from my hand engraved drawings too.

Kathryn Partington Ethereal Silk Neckpiece

Kathryn Partington Ethereal Silk Neckpiece

‘Fragments Above’is  a new experimental range with hand pierced metal components combined lazer cut wood.

Brooches, Laser cut, Wooden, Wooden Jewellery

‘Fragments Above’ Series – Brooches © Kathryn Partington 2012

 ‘Queen of Diamonds’ is a collection of porcelain relief jeweled cameo components with some stones within the body of the material combined with pearls and hand formed ornate silver frames.

Queen of Diamonds Jewellery colllection © Kathryn Partington 2012

Queen of Diamonds Jewellery colllection © Kathryn Partington 2012

I also set up this blog!

I set up a business page on my facebook, please like and share that is of course if you do!!

I had the fabulous opportunity to work with up and coming singer songwriter Milly Winter in her music video ‘Betty Said.’ My jewellery was worn by her and looked beautiful! Do you agree? Check out the video here! I will write another more detailed post on this fab collection of work soon!

I am also now a proud member of The BJA – British Jewellers Association!

So as I round up last year I look forward to this year continuing to make and create…

I am open to new avenues and ideas. if you love and wear jewellery what styles are you in love with?

What colours do you enjoy?

I’d love to know what your thoughts are so please leave a comment below and thanks for reading;

Leave a Reply

