Indulging in new techniques

Kathryn Partington 2013 Enamel tests & placement

Kathryn Partington  © 2013  Placement of enamel tests (14)

Enamel Tests

Kathryn Partington © 2013 Enamel Tests (6)

Cloisonne Enamel composition

Kathryn Partington © 2013 Cloisonne Enamel Tests – Playful composition (15)

Close up detail of tests

Kathryn Partington © 2013 Close up detail of Enamel tests (13)

Cloisonne Enamel Tests - Playful composition (15) © Kathryn Partington

Kathryn Partington © 2013 Enamel Tests – Playful composition (18)

Cloisonne Enamel Tests - Playful composition (15) © Kathryn Partington

Kathryn Partington © 2013 Enamel Tests –  (11)

Cloisonne Enamel Tests - Playful composition (15) © Kathryn Partington

Kathryn Partington © 2013 Enamel Tests – Playful composition (17)

It is well worth a visit and investment to take part in a Masterclasses here. I can highly recommend! I feel inspired and motivated to develop techniques learned further and work with the material/process through experimentation, exploration of surface treatment/finishing and textural qualities.

The workshops I took part in were; Mark-making, Contemporary Cloisonné, Surface treatment and Finishing

A fundamental element of my work revolves around the surface quality whether it is adorned, decorated, embellished, textured, plain, matt/shiny including the consideration of a materials characteristics. It is these principles that I see as fuel to explore outcomes of endless possibilities. Combined with my experience of other mediums and disciplines such as textiles, print, metalwork and ceramic, there are crossovers, similarities and differences that can be embraced, utilized or departed from. It is time for me to research, review, refocus, experiment and develop!! I can’t wait to see what happens by introducing enameling techniques to my portfolio…. watch this space!!

The images here of the work I  produced during these workshops, even though these pieces are currently ‘tests’ I play with the  composition and placement of textures, color and surface to observe how they interact, compliment and transpose with each other. I like what is starting to happen especially in the tonal/simplistic pieces.

Now I’ve just got to get myself an enameling kiln to develop and investigate further!

What do you think? I’d be interested to know, please post a comment below.

Thanks for reading.

Related articles

4 thoughts on “Indulging in new techniques

  1. Pingback: Growing my business! | Kathryn Partington

  2. Pingback: Jewels in progress – Indulging in new techniques | Kathryn Partington

Leave a Reply

