‘Everyday is a new life to a wise man…’ Carnegie

I like this quote by Carnegie and think it sums up the subject of my blog post today.

I’ve broken up for the summer from my 9-5 job, working in The School of Art and Design at The University of Wolverhampton as  a Senior Technician in a dual role. I work within the Printmaking department specializing in Silk Screen Printing and in the Metal workshops specializing in Fine Metal/Jewellery supporting students from many disciplines such as Fine Art, Applied Arts, Product Design, Fashion and Textiles, Photography, Visual Communication and Illustration.

Its been a busy time of year as I’ve watched students develop and flourish to present their final body of work. During this time my focus from my own work has been turned and development has been diverted. My passion to make however never fades. Ideas have been bubbling and emerging. Now I have time to refocus, re-engage and get back onto my mission to make. I also have an innate desire to continue learning.

So to input my learning journey I am excited to be taking part some enameling workshops taught by Ruth Ball at the Jewellery Silversmithing Design Academy. I can’t wait! The first is ‘Explore Mark making’, the second is ‘Contemporary Cloisonné’ and the third is ‘Explore Surface Finishes.’ Techniques that I hope will be incorporated into my work, new projects and new developments. 🙂  Watch this space…

Brooches from the Ethereal Collection by Kathryn Partington

Brooches from the Ethereal Collection by Kathryn Partington

My work predominately explores surface qualities and pattern, it will be interesting to see how I will use these techniques in new collections. Check out my website.

How do you keep learning? Do you read, learn through making and experimentation, inject new techniques through courses? or a combination of methods? I’d be interested to know, please leave a comment below and thanks for reading. ‘Everyday is a new life’ as I continue on my creative learning path!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “‘Everyday is a new life to a wise man…’ Carnegie

  1. Pingback: Screen print for Textiles – Creative Workshops!! | Kathryn Partington

  2. Pingback: KATHRYN PARTINGTON

Leave a Reply

